Edinburg CISD earns 6 National Blue Ribbon Schools

EDINBURG – For the third consecutive year, the Edinburg Consolidated Independent School District has received two National Blue Ribbon School recognitions. The district has now earned a total of six national titles, which is more than any other school district or charter school in South Texas.

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recently announced that Hargill Elementary School and Magee Elementary School were named 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools and were among 349 schools from across the country receiving these prestigious awards.

We are very proud of both campuses, the teachers and the students. What an honor it is to have two additional National Blue Ribbon Schools in Edinburg CISD,” said ECISD Superintendent Dr. René Gutiérrez. “On behalf of the Board of Trustees and the entire Edinburg CISD community, congratulations to Hargill Elementary and to Magee Elementary.”

According to the U.S. Department of Education, the recognition is based on a school's overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“The day is finally here and we are a National Blue Ribbon School,” said Hargill Elementary School Principal Modesta Segundo. “A big thanks to our administrative team, teachers, students and parents for their hard work and dedication. It takes a village here at Hargill Elementary and we proved it.”

“We believed in the students and they believed in us and together we made it happen,”  Magee Elementary School Principal Marla Cavazos said. “I feel very humbled and blessed to be here and to be a part of history.”

In 2017, Austin Elementary School and Jefferson Elementary School received the coveted awards. In 2016, Canterbury Elementary School and Trevino Elementary School received the awards.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content.

“I'm pleased to celebrate with you as your school is named a National Blue Ribbon School,” said DeVos in a video message to the honorees.  “We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives. Congratulations on your students' accomplishments and for your extraordinary commitment to meeting their unique needs.”

Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The U.S. Department of Education invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states.

Earlier this year, 23 Texas schools were nominated for the honor by the Texas Commissioner of Education, who has conducted the nominations since 2003 when the process for applying for the Blue Ribbon School recognition changed.

According to TEA, nominations are made by the Texas Commissioner of Education in Texas and a campus may no longer self-nominate for the prestigious award.

Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools. On November 7-8, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 300 public and 49 private school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.